#Book review # The House of Deep Water by Jeni McFarland

Perfect for fans of The Mothers and Olive Kitteridge, in this stunning and perceptive debut novel three women learn what it means to come home–and to make peace with the family, love affairs, and memories they’d once left behind.  (From the book blurb) ***** My thoughts: Multi-layered, deep, thought-provoking. The House of Deep Water is […]

#Book Review #Deprivation by Roy Freirich

After a mysterious, silent child is found abandoned on the beach clutching a handheld video game, residents and tourists alike find themselves utterly unable to sleep. Exhaustion impairs judgment, delusions become hysteria, and mob rule explodes into shocking violence. Told from three perspectives: Chief of Police Mays tries to keep order, teenaged tourist Cort and […]

#Book Review # Wife After Wife by Olivia Hayfield

A wickedly entertaining and utterly absorbing modern take on the life and marriages of Henry VIII…if he were a twenty-first-century womanizing media mogul rather than the king of England. Master of the universe Harry Rose is head of the Rose Corporation, number eighteen on the Forbes rich list, and recently married to wife number six. […]

#Book review # Big Lies in a Small Town by Diane Chamberlain

North Carolina, 2018: Morgan Christopher’s life has been derailed. Taking the fall for a crime she did not commit, she finds herself serving a three-year stint in the North Carolina Women’s Correctional Center. Her dream of a career in art is put on hold—until a mysterious visitor makes her an offer that will see her […]

#Book Review #Such a Fun Age by Kiley Reid

A striking and surprising debut novel from an exhilarating new voice, Such a Fun Age is a page-turning and big-hearted story about race and privilege, set around a young black babysitter, her well-intentioned employer, and a surprising connection that threatens to undo them both (from the Book Blurb) ***** My thoughts: A great debut book […]

Can’t Wait Wednesday #Knock On Wood by Leslie Tall Manning

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they’re books that have yet to be released. It’s based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine. If you’re continuing with WOW, feel free to link […]

#Book Review #Red at the Bone by Jacqueline Woodson

An unexpected teenage pregnancy pulls together two families from different social classes, and exposes the private hopes, disappointments, and longings that can bind or divide us from each other. Moving forward and backward in time, Jacqueline Woodson’s taut and powerful new novel uncovers the role that history and community have played in the experiences, decisions, […]

#Book Review # The Vanished Bride by Bella Ellis

The human heart has hidden treasures, In secret kept , in silence sealed; – The thoughts, the hopes, the dreams, the pleasures, Whose charms were broken if revealed. ‘Evening Solace’ by Charlotte Brontë Bella Ellis’s charming historical mystery is set in Haworth Parsonage and its neighbouring villages, Yorkshire, summer of 1845. All four surviving children […]

#Book review #The other end of the line by Andrea Camilleri

Sadly, Andrea Camilleri is not with us anymore. He passed away on July 19th, 2019, at the age of 93. ‘The end of the line’ is Number 24 in his most famous series of books that focus on Inspector Salvo Montalbano. From the book blurb: A wave of refugees has arrived on the Sicilian coast, […]

Book Review The Other’s Gold by Elizabeth Ames

Make new friends, but keep the old One is silver and the other’s gold ***** From the book synopsis: An insightful and sparkling novel that opens on a college campus and follows the friendship of four women across life-defining turning points Assigned to the same suite during their freshman year at Quincy-Hawthorne College, Lainey, Ji […]

Create your website at WordPress.com
Get started