#Book Review #Coming Home to Penvennan Cove by Linn B.Halton #Contemporary Romance @Aria

Synopsis:

Can Kerra’s Cornish hometown offer the fresh start she needs?When Kerra left the quiet Cornish town of Penvennan Cove for the bright lights of London she didn’t look back. But after the death of her mother, she’s decided it’s time to face her past and return to the place she called home. Her father needs her, and perhaps she needs him more than she’s willing to admit?
Tackling town gossip, home renovations and a flame from her past, it’s not quite smooth sailing for Kerra. Ross is the bad boy she was meant to forget, not a man who still sets her heart aflutter. As he helps bring her dream home to life, they begin to break down the barriers that have been holding them back and in the process learn things about themselves they never thought possible.
As friends old and new come together, the future in Penvennan looks bright.
Perfect for fans of Milly Johnson, Phillipa Ashley and Julie Houston.

Publisher: Aria
Publication Date: January 14, 2021
ISBN 9781800245938, 1800245939

Purchase
Amazon UK / Amazon US

My thoughts:

Coming Home to Penvennan Cove is the first book in Linn B.Halton’s new series featuring a picturesque village in Cornwall, a thirty year old who decides to come back home after having built up a successful company, an unforgettable first crush, a kind and understanding neighbour, a proud and independent Bengal cat with a very cute name (Ripley) and lots of other memorable characters.

I love a good homecoming story, although usually they start with a series of disasters that force the protagonist to run to their small town where the community spirit is strong and everybody knows what you looked like in primary school. This time there is a twist: Kerra Shaw is a successful entrepreneur who wants to come back to stay with and support her grieving father. She might feel a bit lost about what she would like to do with her life now that she sold her company, but there are neighbours and old friends and her tiny cottage. When Kerra’s neighbour and freelance architect Drew decides to add an extension to their semi and hires a local contractor, Kerra is in for a huge surprise-it’s Ross! -her first crush and first heartbreak.

Penvennan Cove is an archetypal small town with a pub, a bakery, a few shops, a spectacular beach, lots of tourists who help the local businesses survive. There’s also the usual rumour mill with people making assumptions based on very little evidence (well, Kerra herself does it!). It can be stifling and it might feel next to impossible to change what other people think of you, but it can also be very caring and supportive with neighbours turning up on your step with Welcome Home baked goods. You have to think twice about staying over at your friend’s, because the whole village will know your car wasn’t parked in its usual place, but you can also depend on your neighbours to check on you simply because they are worried about your safety. The author doesn’t shy away from discussing the problems, not least of which is second home buyers slowly outpricing the new generation out of their village.

A huge part of the book is about friendships and relationships- building things over time and taking a leap of faith. It captures well the particular problems of having a relationship when you are both serious, decent people, but you’ve been hurt before or you’ve made mistakes and would like to avoid making them again or lost the love of your life as Tegan, Kerra’s best friend, did. Do you take a chance when you feel things are right or do you stall because you don’t want to move too quickly, impose, or come across as needy? what about other people in your life and how your relationship might affect them?

I will admit that this wasn’t a super fast read- I needed time to get used to the author’s writing style and …the minutiae of Penvennan Cove life. On one hand, it seems like nothing much is happening, on the other hand, there’s so much detail, which kept me oddly fascinated and hooked on the story.

Pick this book if you love British women’s fiction, small town settings, and second chance romance.

Join the Conversation

3 Comments

  1. I do like the sound of this book and possible series. it sounds like you get to know the village and its inhabitants pretty well. I like the sound of the many issues that are discussed and part of the story. Great review Toni.

    Like

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: