#Spell the Month in Books # December 2021

This meme was originally created by Jana from Reviews From the Stacks, but I first saw it on Carla’s blog (Carla Loves to Read).

For this challenge, use the first letter of each book title to spell the current month (skipping articles such as A or The). You can either use titles from your tbr or books that you have read/reviewed.

Jana has created a formal linkup which she posts on the second Saturday of the current month. She also has a theme for each of these lists, although you are absolutely free not to follow it at all (I’m not!)

Here is my list for December:

D –Daisy Darker by ALice Feeney

A family reunion on a tiny tidal island leads to murder in this delightfully twisty and atmospheric thriller with a wink to Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None, from Queen of Twists Alice Feeney, the New York Times bestselling author of Rock Paper Scissors

After years of avoiding each other, Daisy Darker’s entire family is assembling for Nana’s 80th birthday party in Nana’s crumbling gothic house on a tiny tidal island. Finally back together one last time, when the tide comes in, they will be cut off from the rest of the world for eight hours.

The family arrives, each of them harboring secrets. Then at the stroke of midnight, as a storm rages, Nana is found dead. And an hour later, the next family member follows…

Trapped on an island where someone is killing them one by one, the Darkers must reckon with their present mystery as well as their past secrets, before the tide goes out and all is revealed.

With a wicked wink to Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None, Daisy Darker’s unforgettable twists will leave readers reeling.

E Elinor by Shannon McNear

A Journey Full of Hope…
Escape into a riveting story based on the mystery of the Lost Colony of Roanoke.

Author Shannon McNear portrays history with vivid authenticity.

In 1587, Elinor White Dare sailed from England heavy with her first child but full of hopes. Her father, a renowned artist and experienced traveler, has convinced her and her bricklayer husband Ananias to make the journey to the New World. Land, they are promised, more goodly and beautiful than they can ever imagine. But nothing goes as planned from landing at the wrong location, to facing starvation, to the endless wait for help to arrive. And, beyond her comprehension, Elinor finds herself utterly alone. . . .
The colony at Roanoke disappeared into the shadows of history. But, what if one survived to leave a lasting legacy?

C Can’t Look Away by Carola Lovering

From the author of Tell Me Lies and Too Good to Be True comes a sexy new suspense about the kind of addictive, obsessive love that keeps you coming back––no matter how hard you try to look away.

In 2013, twenty-three-year-old Molly Diamond is a barista, dreaming of becoming a writer. One night at a concert in Brooklyn, she locks eyes with the lead singer, Jake Danner, and can’t look away. Molly and Jake fall quickly and deeply in love, especially after he writes a hit song about her that puts his band on the map.

Nearly a decade later, Molly has given up writing and is living in Flynn Cove, Connecticut with her young daughter and her husband Hunter—who is decidedly not Jake Danner. Their life looks picture-perfect, but Molly is lonely; she feels out of place with the other women in their wealthy suburb and is struggling to conceive their second child. When Sabrina, a newcomer in town, walks into the yoga studio where Molly teaches and confesses her own fertility struggles, Molly believes she’s finally found a friend.

But Sabrina has her own reasons for moving to Flynn Cove and befriending Molly. And as Sabrina’s secrets are slowly unspooled, her connection to Molly becomes clearer––as do secrets of Molly’s own, which she’s worked hard to keep buried.

Meanwhile, a new version of Jake’s hit song is on the radio, forcing Molly to confront her past and ask the ultimate questions: What happens when life turns out nothing like we thought it would, when we were young and dreaming big? Does growing up mean choosing with your head, rather than your heart? And do we ever truly get over our first love?

E Each of Us is a Universe by Jeanne Zulick Ferruolo

A heartfelt middle grade novel about friendship with a touch of magic, perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate and Barbara O’Connor.

Ever since the day everything changed, Cal Scott has been running—from her mother’s cancer, from her father in prison, and from classmates who’ve never seemed to “get” her. The only thing Cal runs toward is Mt. Meteorite, named for the magical meteorite some say crashed there years ago. Cal plots to summit the mountain, so she can find the magic she believes will heal her mother. But no one has reached its peak—no one who’s lived to tell about it, anyway. Then Cal meets Rosine, a girl who’s faced her own impossibles and has a plan for the mountain and its magic. She convinces Cal they can summit its peak together. As the girls climb high and dig deep to face the mountain’s challenges, Cal learns from Rosine what courage looks like, and begins to wonder if the magic she’s looking for is the kind she needs.

M A Mirror Mended by Alix E.Harrow

USA Today bestselling author Alix E. Harrow returns to her world of Fractured Fables with a new version of Snow White that gives the Evil Queen what she deserves.

Zinnia Gray, professional fairy-tale fixer and lapsed Sleeping Beauty is over rescuing snoring princesses. Once you’ve rescued a dozen damsels and burned fifty spindles, once you’ve gotten drunk with twenty good fairies and made out with one too many members of the royal family, you start to wish some of these girls would just get a grip and try solving their own narrative issues.

Just when Zinnia’s beginning to think she can’t handle one more princess, she glances into a mirror and sees another face looking back at her: the shockingly gorgeous face of evil, asking for her help. Because there’s more than one person trapped in a story they didn’t choose. Snow White’s Evil Queen has found out how her story ends from what might be Zinnia’s own book of fairy tales and she’s desperate for a better ending. She wants Zinnia to help her and she needs to do it before it’s too late for everyone. Will Zinnia accept the Queen’s poisonous request, and save them both from the hot iron shoes that wait for them, or will she try another path?

B The Bodyguard by Katherine Center

New York Times bestselling author Katherine Center’s next novel is unabashedly romantic, laugh-out-loud funny, and the perfect summer read.

She’s got his back.
Hannah Brooks looks more like a kindgerten teacher than somebody who could kill you with a wine bottle opener. Or a ballpoint pen. Or a dinner napkin. But the truth is, she’s an Executive Protection Agent (aka “bodyguard”), and she just got hired to protect superstar actor Jack Stapleton from his middle-aged, corgi-breeding stalker.

He’s got her heart.
Jack Stapleton’s a household name—captured by paparazzi on beaches the world over, famous for, among other things, rising out of the waves in all manner of clingy board shorts and glistening like a Roman deity. But a few years back, in the wake of a family tragedy, he dropped from the public eye and went off the grid.

They’ve got a secret.
When Jack’s mom gets sick, he comes home to the family’s Texas ranch to help out. Only one catch: He doesn’t want his family to know about his stalker. Or the bodyguard thing. And so Hannah—against her will and her better judgment—finds herself pretending to be Jack’s girlfriend as a cover. Even though her ex, like a jerk, says no one will believe it.

What could possibly go wrong???
Hannah hardly believes it, herself. But the more time she spends with Jack, the more real it all starts to seem. And there lies the heartbreak. Because it’s easy for Hannah to protect Jack. But protecting her own, long-neglected heart? That’s the hardest thing she’s ever done.

E Echo by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

From international bestseller Thomas Olde Heuvelt comes Echo, a harrowing novel of obsession and the destructive force of nature.

Nick Grevers and his climbing buddy Augustin are drawn to the Maudit, a remote mountain peak in the Swiss Alps. Documentation on the mountain is scarce, its slopes are eerily quiet, and when they enter its valley, they get the ominous sense that they are not alone.

Something is waiting for them….

Not long after, Nick wakes from a coma to find Augustin dead. Nick’s face is maimed and wrapped in bandages. A long rehabilitation awaits, but Nick soon realizes that it isn’t just the trauma of the accident that haunts him.

Something has awakened inside him….

R The Red Palace by Jane Hur

A young palace nurse investigates a pattern of grisly murders in this romantic YA historical mystery from the author of The Silence of Bones.

Joseon (Korea), 1758. There are few options available to illegitimate daughters in the capital city, but through hard work and study, eighteen-year-old Hyeon has earned a position as a palace nurse. All she wants is to keep her head down, do a good job, and perhaps finally win her estranged father’s approval.

But Hyeon is suddenly thrust into the dark and dangerous world of court politics when someone murders eight palace nurses in a single night, and the prime suspect is Hyeon’s closest friend and mentor.

In her hunt for the truth, she encounters Eojin, a young police inspector also searching for the killer. When evidence begins to point to the Crown Prince himself, Hyeon and Eojin must work together to search the darkest corners of the palace to uncover the secrets behind the bloodshed.

Are these books on your tbr as well? If yes, why did you pick them?

Or perhaps you have already read them? If yes, did you like them?

What book titles woud you use to spell December?

2 replies on “#Spell the Month in Books # December 2021”

Comments are closed.

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: