#Blog Tour #Book Review #The Ones We’re Meant to Find by Joan He @Xpresso Book Tours

Book details:
The Ones We’re Meant to Find
by Joan He
Published by: Roaring Brook Press
Publication date: May 4th 2021
Genres: Fantasy, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, The Ones We’re Meant to Find is a sci-fi fantasy with mind-blowing twists, ready to burst onto the YA scene, from the critically-acclaimed Descendant of the Crane author, Joan He.

Cee awoke on an abandoned island three years ago. With no idea of how she was marooned, she only has a rickety house, an old android, and a single memory: she has a sister, and Cee needs to find her.

STEM prodigy Kasey wants escape from the science and home she once trusted. The Metropolis—Earth’s last unpolluted place—is meant to be sanctuary for those commited to planetary protection, but it’s populated by people willing to do anything for refuge, even lie. Now, she’ll have to decide if she’s ready to use science to help humanity, even though it failed the people who mattered most.

Goodreads

Purchase

Amazon/ B&N / Kobo /iBooks / GooglePlay

AUTHOR BIO:

Joan was born and raised in Philadelphia but still will, on occasion, lose her way. At a young age, she received classical instruction in oil painting before discovering that stories were her favorite kind of art. She studied psychology and Chinese history at the University of Pennsylvania and currently writes from a desk overlooking the city
waterfront. Descendant of the Crane is her young adult debut.

For updates, please sign up for her newsletter: http://eepurl.com/c5rvdL. For business related inquiries, please contact her literary agent, John Cusick of Folio Lit.

Giveaway:

Tour-wide giveaway (INT)

Print copy of The Ones We’re Meant to Find

rafflecopter

My thoughts:

Science-fiction is one of my favourite genres and when the writing is as good as Joan He’s, it invokes deep and powerful emotions and makes you think about the world created in the book for days and days afterwards. The Ones We’re meant to Find has numerous twists and, while I am dying to tell you how brilliant the plot is, I don’t want to spoil it for you.

Straight from the beginning we are thrown into a mystery. We meet Cee who is stranded on an island, lost her colour vision and most of her memories, and is desperately trying to find her sister Kay. Then the story switches to Kasey and her life in this futuristic dystopian world and we get a new set of elements that might seem confusing at the beginning (there are also multiple timelines), but it will all come together into a mesmerising overall picture.

Joan He’s use of different forms of narrative (first person for Celia, third for her sister Kasey) was absolutely brilliant. The characters are so well-differentiated and unique and you are compelled to read on to understand their personalities and their motivations. Both sisters are flawed in their own ways and you might relate more to one or the other, or more likely than not, you will relate to both of them at different points. The strength of the bond between them and their love for each other is undeniable and will break your heart.

Whatever expectations you have, the book is going to surprise you. I loved the steady pace and this feeling of being on the verge of figuring it all out. Of course, then you get another piece of the puzzle which shifts your perspective on this world, the characters, and the story.

It is one of the most engaging and emotional stories I’ve read this year. Everything in it including the futuristic world with its environmental disasters that is paying consequences for our actions in the present, the complexity of characters, the intensity of emotions,the plot- all of it was so well-written that the book left me with a bookish hangover. I really can’t recommend it high enough. This book is so much more than just a gorgeous cover….

Can’t wait to read what Joan He writes next!

Thank you to Giselle from Xpresso Book Tours, NetGalley and Roaring Books for the review copy provided in exchange for an honest opinion.

Join the Conversation

6 Comments

    1. 5 stars all way through!
      I keep talking about this book to everyone- family, colleagues, total strangers 😁 The plot is complex, but everything in it, every detail is necessary (in the hindsight). You must read, Yesha! I can’t wait to find out what you’ll think of it, especially the ending.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: