#Blog Tour #Book Review #Who Do You Trust by Kirsty Ferguson #Domestic Noir @rararesources @Boldwood Books

Thank you to Rachel from Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me to participate in the blog tour for Kirsty Ferguson’s new book Who Do You Trust?

Who Do You Trust?

A perfect sunny day, a family celebration, a heart-stopping hour that changes everything…
Dana has all she ever wanted – a husband she loves, her four-year-old daughter Kelsey who is the apple of her eye, and another baby on the way to complete her perfect family.

But then the worst fear that Dana has, comes true, and everything she thought she knew, she now starts to doubt. As her world comes crashing around her, who can Dana trust?  

Her husband Logan who seems to be getting worryingly close to Dana’s best friend Pippa?
Her new friend Melanie who has a sinister habit of turning up in the strangest places?
Her parents and her sister, who Dana knows are keeping a terrible secret from her?
Matt, who says he’s Dana’s friend, but sometimes she’s not so sure?
Or will Dana discover that it’s a dangerous mistake to trust anyone…

Join Kirsty Ferguson on this heart-stopping, plot-twisting, roller coaster read, perfect for fans of Shari Lapena and Adele Parks. 

Purchase Link – https://amzn.to/3ojpSH4

My thoughts:

This isn’t going to be an easy review to write without spolilers. If you’ve read the book, you must have noticed how carefully the blurb was worded to avoid giving away the most important content point.

Kirsty Ferguson is well-known for her gripping domestic noirs and dark topics. The premise in her newest bok is intriguing: who can you trust after a tragedy strikes and you both desperately need your family support and feel they are at least partially responsible for it?

Dana O’Connor is expecting her second child. Her husband Logan, her four-year-old daughter Kelsey and she are invited to a barbeque at her parents house. Her mother would like Dana and her younger sister Alesha try to mend their relationship, practically broken for good after Alesha said some very hurtful things to Dana three months before. We begin to see that Dana’s life might not be as perfect as it seems at first glance. Then unimaginable tragedy happens and devastated Dana needs time and space to make sense of it and accept it. Twists keep coming right, left and center. First we find out what exactly was said three months before to ruin Dana and Alesha’s sisterly bond. Then new people, Melanie and Matt, appear in Dana’s life, while the old ties and friendships (her husband Logan and her best friend Pippa) seem to fade  or transform. The circumstances in which Dana becomes friends with Melanie and later Matt are understandable, but she is the only one who doesn’t seem to see that it’s too much too soon for them to really have her best interests at heart. The final twist will reveal it all!

There is a fairly large cast of characters, but they all have strong links to Dana, who is in the centre of the narration. Dana, in her own words, likes to please people. On several occasions, despite  feeling strongly about the issue at hand, she caves in, because it is easier to agree. There is a thin line between persuading somebody to do something and pushing them to do something they aren’t ready or willing to do. It is up to the reader to draw their own conclusions whether the people around Dana are lacking understanding of the emotional side of the situation (they are also, tosome extent, dealing with the aftermath of the tragedy), are selfish, unsupportive, or even abusive. Personally, I would have appreciated a bit more depth to the characterization, as the book felt too plot-driven.

Altogether, it was a quick read with a very dark cental theme and lots of unexpected twists. I am a fan of domestic thrillers (if you’ve been following this blog for some time, you know how much I love Shari Lapena) and would like to read another book by this author.

Thank you to Rachel from Rachel’s Random Resources, NetGalley and Boldwood Books for the ARC provided in exchange for an honest opinion.

If you are a kind of person who apprreciates content warnings / trigger warnings, please, highlight the following lines written in white:


Content warning:

Accidental death of a child caused by a parent.
I am going to be absolutely honest and say that had I been given this content warning, I wouldn’t have picked the book ,as this is the topic I tend to avoid. I understand that not everybody likes having content warnings and this way you can miss out on lots of great books, so Itried to do my best to keep my review spoiler free.

Author Bio:

Kirsty Ferguson is an Australian crime writer whose domestic noir stories centre around strong women and dark topical themes. Kirsty enjoys photography, visiting haunted buildings and spending time with her son. Her first book for Boldwood was Never Ever Tell published in June 2020.

Social Media Links –

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorkirstyferguson/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/kfergusonauthor
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kirstyfergusonauthor/
Newsletter Sign Up Link: https://bit.ly/KirstyFergusonNewsletter
Bookbub profile: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/kirsty-ferguson

Thank you for reading the post! Have a wonderful Monday and a great new week!

If you woud like to see what other bloggers thought of Kirsty Ferguson’s book, here is the full blog tour schedule:

18th March

  1. My Reading Getaway
  2. sibzzreads
  3. Bookish Jottings

19th March

  1. karenandherbooks
  2. Heidi Lynn’s Book Reviews
  3. Jazzy Book Reviews

20th March

  1. Jessica Belmont
  2. Nicki`sLifeOfCrime
  3. donnasbookblog

21st March

  1. Coffee, Dogs & Books
  2. The Comfy Chair
  3. Confessions of a Bookaholic

22nd March

  1. Two ladies and a book
  2. Ginger Book Geek
  3. Reading Tonic

23rd March

  1. Jane Hunt Writer
  2. Futures
  3. Ceri’s Little Blog

24th March

  1. sharon beyond the books
  2. Ally’s Reading corner
  3. Mama Bear’s book hour

25th March

  1.  Just Katherine
  2.  Stardust Book Reviews
  3. Fany Reads English

Join the Conversation

6 Comments

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: