#Blog Tour #It’s Kind of a Cheesy Love Story by Lauren Morrill #YA @Xpresso Book Tours @FSG

Book details:
It’s Kind of a Cheesy Love Story
by Lauren Morrill
Published by: Farrar Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Publication date: March 9th 2021
Genres: Comedy, Romance, Young Adult
Synopsis:

A delicious love story with all the toppings, Lauren Morrill’s It’s Kind of a Cheesy Love Story is a contemporary YA rom-com about love, friendship, and pizza, perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han.

After her mother gave birth to her in the bathroom of a local pizzeria, Beck has been given the dubious privilege of having minor fame, free pizza for life, and a guaranteed job when she turns sixteen—a job she unfortunately can’t afford to turn down.

Now she’s stuck with her geeky co-workers instead of taking Instagram-ready shots with her best friends (and her epic crush).

But maybe the pizza people aren’t all bad. Maybe that pizza delivery guy is kind of cute. And maybe there’s a way to make this Bathroom Baby thing work for her. Because when disaster strikes the beloved pizza place that’s started to feel like home, she’s going to need a miracle—one that might even mean bringing her two worlds together.

Goodreads

Purchase

Amazon / B&N / iBooks / Kobo / Google Play

My thoughts:

I fell in love with this book straightaway. There was something special about Beck’s narrative that made me relate to her. Beck’s identity of a baby born in a pizzeria is, of course, unique, but the observation that identities are often set early on and not easy to change if you happen to live in a small town is very true.

Your teenage years is the time when you are supposed to figure out what you are, who your friends are and why they are your friends, and what makes your heart beat stronger, and Lauren Morrill does a wonderful job of exploring this topic. I just loved the idea of a Schroedinger crush- that particular state of things when you don’t know if your love interest is into you or not, but you are afraid to say or do anything to find out for sure.

Due to the accident of her birth Beck has always known that she would have a job in the pizzeria where she first saw the light of the world, that is should she want it. Although she would love dearly to escape anything to do with pizzas or any kind of fast food, we all know how limited job opportunities for teenagers are. As far as the first jobs go, this isn’t a bad one. Her co-workers are friendly and she doesn’t have to try to be something else to fit in with the others, because the Hot’n’Crusty people know and love her as she is. I really enjoyed Beck’s journey towards understanding various relationships and friendships she forms and how they all reflect various parts of her identity, which isn’t set in stone, but is still developing.

If you are looking for a story with a sweet and adorable high school romance, changing friendships, supportive parents, realistic, but also entertaining interactions between the characters, and great sense of humour- this is a book for you. A book that will put a smile on your face and will make you feel better about life.

Thank you to NetGalley, the publisher (Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)) and Giselle from Xpresso Book tours for the review copy. All opinions are my own and were not influenced in any way.

Giveaway:

Tour-wide giveaway (US/CAN)

Print copy of It’s Kind of a Cheesy Love Story

rafflecopter

AUTHOR BIO:

LAUREN MORRILL grew up in Maryville, Tennessee, where she was a short-term Girl Scout, a (not so) proud member of the marching band, and a trouble-making editor for the school newspaper. She graduated from Indiana University with a major in history and a minor in rock & roll, and now lives in Macon, GA with her husband and sons.

Author links:

website / instagram / pinterest / goodreads / facebook / twitter

Thank you for reading the post! Have a wonderful Friday and a lovely weekend!

If you would like to see what other bloggers thought of this book, you can find the full blog tour schedule here:

March 8th
The Avid Reader >> Interview
The Heart of a Book Blogger >> Guest post
Bookish Trisha >> Review
Hopelessly Devoted Bibliophile >> Review
We Live and Breathe Books >> Review
Literati Psyche >> Review

March 9th
I’m Shelf-ish >> Guest post
Sascha Darlington’s Microcosm Explored >> Review
The Candid Cover >> Excerpt
Sadie’s Spotlight >> Excerpt
Twirling Book Princess >> Excerpt

March 10th
Why I Cant Stop Reading  >> Review
TheBookNerdDiaries >> Guest post
Captivated Reading  >> Review
Uneek Book Lover >> Review

March 11th
The Book View  >> Review
Kait Plus Books >> Interview
Book Briefs >> Review
What Irin Reads >> Review
DEEKAY | Daily Dose of Reading >> Review

March 12th
Reading Tonic >> Review
Chonky Books Review >> Review
Windows to Worlds  >> Review
Lisa Loves Literature >> Interview
The Tattooed Librarian >> Review

Join the Conversation

3 Comments

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: