#Blog Tour # Book Review of The Ex by Diane Saxon #DS Jenna Morgan #Police procedural #psychological thriller @rararesources @Diane_Saxon @BoldwoodBooks #boldwoodbloggers

Thank you to Rachel from Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me to participate in the blog tour for Diane Saxon’s new police procedural The Ex, the latest addtion to her DS Jenna Morgan series.

The Ex

Sometimes your past just won’t let go…

As a heat wave grips the country, DS Jenna Morgan is called to a domestic incident at the home of a young family in Ironbridge.
Pregnant Imelda Cheetham-Epstein has been found unconscious by her husband, Zak with serious head injuries.
When Jenna arrives on the scene, she discovers something even more disturbing – the couple’s eleven-month-old son, Joshua, is missing and the race against time begins to find him.

Is this an accident or something more sinister?
Are the two incidents linked?

Or has something in the Cheetham-Epstein’s past caught up with them?

Diane Saxon is back with a gripping new psychological crime novel, perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and Carol Wyer.

Goodreads

Purchase
Amazon

My thoughts:

The Ex is the fourth book in Diane Saxon’s gripping series of police proceduralscenteredaround DS Jenna Morgan, her family and her trusted team. The book can be read as a standalone, but I am really glad to have discovered a new series to follow.

DS Jenna Morgan is called to a scene of what appears at first glance a domestic accident. Well-meaning, gossipy neighbours waiting outside have already informed her that the newly married couple living in the house are very much in love with each other and are expecting a baby. Imelda must have had a horrifying fall. While paramedics are doing their job to save the young woman’s life, Jenna discovers that the couple’s eleven-month-old toddler Joshua is missing and the race against the clock begins…

I must say I was a bit apprehensive after reading the first chapter told from the ex’s perspective. I knew dark and disturbing things lay ahead as Emily was clearly delusional. I have to say that it isn’t easy to portray a character like her and make the reader ask the same question Jenna asks herself: how could it happen that a person with this kind of issues fell through the cracks in the system?

Jenna herself is a terrific police officer and you will sympathise with her and admire her. She has a great team and knows she can rely on them at all times to help her do the basic polic work, something the public rarely sees, keen as we are to focus on the results. The book successfully strikes the balance between the personal and professional, the balance that makes or breaks any police procedural.

I liked the narrative structure: we get to see the events from Emily’s POV and also have to solve the mysteryby following Jenna and her team, so the reader is always ‘in the know’ and yet, there are a few twists that may surprise you. For me, the best thing was the level of detail: Diana Saxon really doesn’t tell you, she shows and lets you draw your own conclusions and process the complex feelings this book is bound to stir.

A well-written, fast-paced police procedural /psycholigical thriller, The Ex is a gripping, addictive read, which I can wholeheartedly recommend to all the lovers of the genre. My first book by Diane Saxon and I am hooked. Count me in for all future instalments in the series!

Thank you to NetGalley, Rachel from Rachel’s Random Resources and Boldwood Books for the review copy. All opinions are my own and were not influenced in any way.

Author Bio:
Diane Saxon previously wrote romantic fiction for the US market but has now turned to writing psychological crime. Find Her Alive was her first novel in this genre and introduced series character DS Jenna Morgan. She is married to a retired policeman and lives in Shropshire.

Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authordianesaxon
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Diane_Saxon
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/dianesaxonauthor/
Newsletter Sign Up Link: http://bit.ly/DianeSaxonNewsletter
Bookbub profile: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/diane-saxon

Thank you for reading the post! Have a wonderful Sunday!

If you would like to find out what other bloggers thought of The Ex, here is the full blog tour schedule:

Join the Conversation

4 Comments

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: