Can’t Wait Wednesday #Knock On Wood by Leslie Tall Manning

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they’re books that have yet to be released. It’s based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine. If you’re continuing with WOW, feel free to link those up as well! Find out more here.

The book I am waiting for is ‘Knock On Wood’ by Leslie Tall Manning. The expected publication date is November 15, 2019.

Book summary:

1978:

Fourteen-year-old Billy Baker is the first into the pond that early summer day. Ten minutes later, his lifeless body is pulled from the chilly water, his lips like two slivers of blue ice. Billy Baker dies…but only for a little while. Thirty-nine days later, he emerges from a coma.

But he is not alone.

1994:

Billy (AKA William) is turning thirty. He forgets some letters in the alphabet. He can’t set a table properly. He still believes it’s the disco era. And he can’t remember that day at the pond.

But the young boy William used to be has never left his side.

A brain-damaged hero. An unrequited love. A lottery windfall. A jealous brother. A memory hidden just below the surface…

Sharp contrasts of sunshiny music and life’s dark periphery are delicately mingled in this extraordinary tale, putting a new twist on the age-old question: Is it possible to find the way home again when one’s memory is nothing more than a blank slate?

For fans of Forrest Gump and The Five People You Meet in Heaven.

Why I am waiting for this book:

I fell in love with Leslie Tall Manning’s writing after reading her YA novel ‘I am Elephant, I am butterfly’. She has a wonderful writing style, elegant, sincere and heartfelt. The topics Leslie explores in her books are not the easiest to talk about, but she deals with them with outstanding sensitivity and thoughtfulness.

We all admired ‘Forrest Gump’ for its unrelentless optimism and humanity, so I’m intrigued about Billy Baker and his story. So, let’s ‘Knock On Wood’ and hope it is going to be as good as Leslie Tall Manning’s previous work.

Other books by Leslie Tall Manning:

I am Elephant, I am Butterfly
Maggie’s dream
Upside Down in a Laura Ingalls Town
Gaga

You can also find more information about Leslie Tall Manning here:

http://www.leslietallmanning.com/

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8118702.Leslie_Tall_Manning

Thank you for stopping by and reading the post. I can’t wait to read what upcoming releases you are excited about this week!

Join the Conversation

8 Comments

  1. Thank you for making KNOCK ON WOOD a Can’t-wait Wednesday book! I am honored and thrilled. A sneak peek on my WordPress page!
    We love happytonic!!
    Here is a link in case anyone wants to preorder on Kindle. The paperback will be ready for order soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website at WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: